LIVE IM 25 // Amistat & Josh Savage

Every month, Live in 25, the pop culture event series at the 25hours Hotel Bikini Berlin, brings together young artists from a wide variety of disciplines. Street theater meets dance, poetry slam with a twist of indieband, poetry stand up comedy. We like to keep it different and very Berlin.

Amistat
Shows by Amistat aren’t only pretty emotional, they even offer direct insights into the heads of the duo. Josef and Jan are twins who know each other very well and therefore communicate in an honest way. This is why they have stolen the hearts of Australians already. It’s time to conquer the German ground with the tracks of their two EPs and album „Parley“ now! Our hot tip: Stand next to your soul mate during the concert, so that you can rest your head on their shoulder when you feel melancholic.

Josh Savage
A bit of Foals, some Ben Howard, but at the same time completely different: His very own approach to dramatic indie pop und his classical music education has given Josh Savage his loyal fanbase. Living room concerts used to be his thing. And not only in his home Winchester – back in 2015 he traveled all over Europe and the US within five months. After that, he supported Razorlight and Catfish & The Bottlemen. Playing live, he presents a mixture of his three EPs and singles which amaze the listeners because of his warm voice and captivating songwriting.

More Articles

More Info

The International Heartbeat of Frankfurt

Dasitu Kajela-Röttger and her husband, Michael Röttger, are a real dream team, both privately and professionally. They met and fell in love in 1985, at an African festival in their chosen home of Frankfurt am Main. At the time, Dasitu was organising an evening of Ethiopian Oromo culture, and Michael had just returned from a long trip to Africa and was enthusiastic about the music. Later, he also managed to convince Dasitu to become his accomplice in professional matters as well. Dasitu was already working in the intercultural field anyway, and she thought combining that with musical culture would be the perfect match. ‘I was only able to really spark her interest in West African music culture as time went on, though,’ says Michael, laughing.

More Info

The Present is Female

The music scene is a domain in which women have traditionally been on the passive side of things: as muses, as fans in front of the stage, or as groupies. Does that sound a little antiquated? Indeed it is! There have long been amazing women involved in front of, behind, or next to the stage. It’s time for gender balance to be introduced to festival lineups, for the gender pay gap to close in creative industries, and for women to take executive positions at major labels and established music magazines. Does this sound like a somewhat utopian fantasy? Hardly! If we take a look around the scene, we see significant female players who are making noise, creating new spaces, and, in doing so, changing the game. That’s why this edition of COMPANION is focused on the music world in Berlin, profiling women who make the industry so captivating: DJs, singers, event organisers, writers, and activists

More Info

When in Doubt, Anarchy

Tim Renner is a legend in the music and culture business. As a manager at Universal, he discovered bands such as Rammstein, and from 2014 to 2016, he was Berlin’s state secretary for cultural affairs, initiating a digitalisation offensive. Aside from having worked as a music journalist and radio host, and founding his own media startup, Motor Entertainment, he also lectures at the Popakademie Baden-Württemberg and writes books on the industry. In short, it’s hard to think of anyone with a better grasp on the present and future of pop culture. A conversation about youthful anarchism, the vastness of the unregulated internet, and what’s next for the music industry.

More Info

Mona’s Cake Repertoire

Mona Asuka combines two passions: playing the piano and baking. The Munich-born professional musician tells COMPANION why the two disciplines are in fact quite similar — and she also shares her recipe for the perfect summer cake.

More Info

Find Your Own Woodstock

Be it for a musical weekend trip with the family, melodious evenings at a winery, or experiencing the jazz stars of tomorrow performing live — COMPANION presents the best festivals close to our cities.

More Info

The Science of Scent

Subtle and seductive, the aroma molecule Iso E Super was created in a laboratory in 1973. In 2006, the master perfumer Geza Schön bottled it pure to create Molecule 01 - a fragrance that fast gained a cult following the world over. Many more scents later, COMPANION visited Schön at his Berlin apartment and lab to get a whiff of the chemistry behind his 'anti-fragrances', and glean his take on the wellness industry's obsession with nature (hint: it's overrated).

now we are talking.

Special insights into the world of 25hours and local news – register here!


back to
top

LIVE IM 25 // Amistat & Josh Savage

Bei „Live im 25“, der Popkultur-Eventreihe im 25hours Hotel im Bikini Berlin, begegnen sich jeden Monat junge Künstler verschiedenster Disziplinen: Straßentheater trifft auf Tanz, Poetry Slam auf Indieband, Lyrik auf Stand Up Comedy. Immer anders und immer neu, aber immer echt Berlin.

Amistat
Eine Show von Amistat ist nicht nur eine ziemlich emotionale Angelegenheit, sie erlaubt einem auch einen direkten Blick in die Köpfe des Duos. Josef und Jan sind Zwillinge, die einander genau kennen und so auch in ihrer Musik auf die ehrlichste Weise kommunizieren können. Die beiden sind genau deshalb bereits in den Herzen vieler Australien fest verankert. Nun bringen sie die folkigen Tracks ihrer zwei EPs und ihres Debütalbums „Parley“ auch nach Deutschland. Für ein Konzert der Twins sollte man sich unbedingt auch einen Seelenverwandten neben sich stellen, um sich in den besonders melancholischen Momenten an sie lehnen zu können.

Josh Savage
Ein bisschen Foals, etwas Ben Howard und dann doch wieder komplett anders: Mit seinem ganz eigenen Zugang zum dramatischen Indiepop und seiner klassischen musikalischen Ausbildung hat sich Josh Savage eine feste Fanbase erspielt. Ein Wohnzimmerkonzert nach dem anderen legte der aus Winchester stammende Engländer hin. Und das längst nicht nur in seiner Heimatstadt – 2015 reiste er innerhalb von fünf Monaten mal eben durch ganz Europa und Amerika. Danach ging es weiter als Support von Razorlight und auch Catfish & The Bottlemen. Live bringt er eine Mischung aus seinen drei EPs und Singles auf die Bühne, die vor allem durch seine warme Stimme und das einnehmende Songwriting beeindrucken.

Weitere Artikel

Mehr Infos

The International Heartbeat of Frankfurt

Dasitu Kajela-Röttger und ihr Mann Michael Röttger sind privat als auch beruflich ein echtes Dre-amteam. Kennen- und lieben gelernt haben sie sich 1985 auf einem afrikanischen Festival in ihrer Wahlheimat Frankfurt am Main. Dasitu organisierte damals einen Abend der äthiopischen Oromo-Kultur. Michael war gerade von einer langen Afrikareise zurückgekehrt und begeistert von der Mu-sik — und überzeugte Dasitu, auch beruflich seine Komplizin zu werden. Letzteres dauerte etwas länger: „So richtig für die westafrikanische Musikkultur begeistern konnte ich sie erst im Laufe der Zeit“, sagt Michael und lacht.

Mehr Infos

The Present is Female

Die Musik-Szene ist eine Domäne, in der Frauen traditionell eher die passive Seite bekleideten: als Fans vor der Bühne, als Muse zur Inspiration - oder als Groupie. Klingt antiquiert? Ist auch so! Vor, hinter und neben der Bühne gibt es längst großartige Frauen, die mitmischen. Es ist Zeit, dass die Gender-Balance auf Festival-Line-Ups sich einstellt, dass sich der Gender Pay Gap in der Kreativ-Branche schließt und führende Positionen in großen Labels und etablierten Musikmagazinen auch mal von Frauen besetzt werden. Sind wir hier etwas utopisch unterwegs? Wohl kaum. Schauen wir uns in der Szene um, fallen vor allem bedeutende Akteurinnen auf, die sich Gehör verschaffen, für Freiräume sorgen und Game-Changer sind. COMPANION hat sich diese Ausgabe auf die Berliner Musik-Szene konzentriert und porträtiert Frauen, die die Branche spannend und aufregend machen: DJs, Sängerinnen, Veranstalterinnen, Schreiberinnen und Aktivistinnen

Mehr Infos

Im Zweifel für die Anarchie

Tim Renner ist der lebende Rundumschlag des Musik- und Kulturbusiness: Als Manager bei Universal entdeckte er Bands wie Rammstein, zwischen 2014 und 2016 setzte er sich als Staatssekretär für Kulturelle Angelegenheiten vor allem für eine Digitalisierungsoffensive ein. Außerdem arbeitete er als Musikjournalist und Radiomoderator, gründete mit Motor Entertainment sein eigenes Medien-Start-Up, unterrichtet an der Popakademie Mannheim und schreibt Bücher zur Branche. Es gibt also kaum jemanden, mit dem man besser über Gegenwart und Zukunft der Popkultur diskutieren kann. Ein Gespräch über jugendlichen Anarchismus, die Weiten des ungeregelten Internets und die Zukunft der Musikbranche.

Mehr Infos

Monas Kuchenklaviatur

Mona Asuka vereint zwei Leidenschaften: Das Klavierspielen und das Backen. Warum beides ei-gentlich ziemlich ähnlich ist, erzählt die Münchner Berufsmusikerin COMPANION — und verrät obendrein das Rezept für den perfekten Sommerkuchen.

Mehr Infos

Find your own Woodstock

Ob ein musikalischer Wochenendtrip mit der Familie, klangvolle Abende auf dem Weingut oder die Jazz-Stars von Übermorgen live erleben — COMPANION stellt die schönsten Festivals rund um unsere Städte vor.

Mehr Infos

Die Wissenschaft der Düfte

In einem Labor wurde im Jahr 1973 das subtile, verführerische Aromamolekül Iso E Super hergestellt. Im Jahr 2006 füllte Meister-Parfümeur Geza Schön es in reiner Form ab, um Molecule 01 zu kreieren - einen Duft, der inzwischen auf der ganzen Welt Kultstatus erlangt hat. Viele Düfte später besuchte COMPANION Schön in seinem Apartment und Labor in Berlin, um in die Chemie hinter diesen "Anti-Düften" hineinzuschnuppern und seine Sicht auf die Naturbesessenheit der Wellnessindustrie kennenzulernen (kleiner Tipp: Sie wird überbewertet.)

now we are talking.

Besondere Einblicke in die Welt von 25hours und lokale News – hier anmelden!


back to
top